The Home of the Uncle Dave Macon Days Festival
Historic Cannonsburgh Village is the home of Uncle Dave Macon Days and is located at 312 S. Front St., (behind Sticks and Stuff on Broad Street in Murfreesboro). The charming village is part of the Murfreesboro Parks and Recreation Department, but began as a United States Bicentennial project in 1976 and is one of the few still being utilized today. The scenic area, which is bordered by the Murfreesboro Greenway, represents about 100 years of Middle Tennessee history from the time period of 1820-1930. The area, once a run down, dilapidated part of the city, now beckons visitors to relax and stroll through the beautifully landscaped and peaceful place.
Step back in time and visit some 20 restored log and board structures represented including a gristmill, school house, telephone operator’s house, the University House, the Leeman House, a museum, a train caboose, the Wedding Chapel. Also featured is a doctor’s office, a general store, a large collection of farm equipment, a gazebo and covered pavilion.
One of the most celebrated items at Cannonsburgh is the World’s Largest Cedar Bucket. Additionally, the Rutherford County Blacksmith Association, The Murfreesboro Art League and Gallery, and the Stones River Antique Auto Club, all call the historic village home.
A visitor’s center is located on the grounds offering snacks and souvenirs.
Here is a one-of-a-kind 19th century experience in the village of Cannonsburgh. Visitors can watch and be thrilled by the science of blacksmithing in action in a real livery stable.
The Rutherford County Blacksmiths Association has a long standing tradition of sharing the craft of Blacksmithing with the public since 1976. The Anderson’s Shop at Cannonsburgh Pioneer Village of Murfreesboro is a working shop with classes every Monday night and demonstrations for the public throughout the year. Our Green Coal Class teaches basic Blacksmithing skills through 15 projects taught with traditional techniques. The Association also educates through demonstrations for school and home school groups and during festivals held throughout the year here at the village.
World’s Largest Cedar Bucket
The world’s largest Cedar Bucket was originally built in 1887 as a promotional item by the Tennessee Red Cedar Wooden Works Company, a manufacturer of cedar buckets in Murfreesboro.It holds 1556 gallons, it stands nearly six feet tall and is six feet wide at the base and made of red cedar wood.
After being a world traveler, the massive container, was brought back to Murfreesboro, to a new home in Cannonsburgh in 1976. Sadly, arsonists torched the landmark during June of 2005.
Using the original hardware, the Rutherford County Blacksmith Association restored the bucket to its former beauty in time to celebrate Murfreesboro’s Bicentennial in 2012.
Today, it is back home in Cannonsburgh, located in a protected enclosure.
Antique Car Garage
Operated by the Stones River Car Club, the Old Gas Station at Cannonsburgh village comes to life when the Car Club comes driving in during Uncle Dave Macon Days.